38.5 C
Friday, May 14, 2021

use promo code WHILENEWS


Alesi and Arnoux to race 1974 Ferrari F1 at Monaco

Must read

Arnoux was scheduled to contest the occasion in 2020 earlier than the COVID-19 pandemic led to its postponement to this yr.

The delay has allowed German entrant Methusalem Racing group to get Alesi on board as properly.

The previous Ferrari works drivers will participate within the Serie F occasion, for 3-litre F1 vehicles from the 1973-76 period.

Arnoux raced within the Monaco GP on 10 events between 1979 and 1989, ending third with Ferrari in 1984.

Alesi made 12 begins within the principality between 1990 and 2001, incomes second on his debut with Tyrrell and taking third locations for Ferrari in each 1991 and 1993.

The 312B3 was initially raced through the 1974 season by Niki Lauda and Clay Regazzoni, and it was the pacesetter for a lot of the yr.

Lauda scored his first F1 win at Jarama and triumphed once more at Zandvoort, whereas additionally logging 9 pole positions – together with Monaco.

Learn Additionally:

Clay Regazzoni leads Ferrari teammate Niki Lauda on the 1974 Monaco Grand Prix

Regazzoni scored his solely win of the yr on the Nurburgring, however the Swiss driver remained in title competition till the ultimate race.

Additionally within the Serie F discipline is former F1 driver Alex Caffi, on the wheel of a 1976 Ensign N176.

The opposite massive identify within the weekend’s entry record is 2012 Spanish GP winner Pastor Maldonado, who will drive a 1937 Maserati 4CM within the Serie A race for pre-war vehicles.

Like Arnoux and Caffi the Venezuelan was entered in 2020, and has needed to wait a yr for his likelihood to participate.

The Vehicle Membership de Monaco says that regardless of the pandemic it has acquired 170 entries for its seven historic races.

Having missed the deliberate seventieth anniversary of F1 celebrations as a consequence of final yr’s postponement the main target of the assembly would be the celebration of the seventieth anniversary of Ferrari’s first World Championship victory, achieved by Jose Froilan Gonzalez at Silverstone in 1951.

Though an ACM announcement hinted that spectators will likely be allowed, no particulars have but been given about preparations for the Historic GP, or the Formulation E and Formulation 1 occasions that may observe.

An ACM spokesperson advised Motorsport.com: “The organisation committee of the three forthcoming occasions is definitely engaged on completely different situations, so we are going to announce as quickly as it will likely be determined.”

Source link

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: