BHUBANESWAR: Olympic bronze medal-winning captain Manpreet Singh will lead a 20-member Indian males’s hockey group, which does not function veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, at subsequent month’s Asian Champions Trophy in Dhaka.
Whereas Manpreet will lead the aspect, star dragflicker Harmanpreet Singh has been named because the vice-captain for the event to be held from December 14 to 22.
The squad for the event, which is India’s first outing after the Tokyo Olympics, has loads of new faces.
Talismanic goalkeeper Sreejesh has been rested, and Krishan Bahadur Pathak and Suraj Karkera will take the place underneath the aim.
Harmanpreet shall be in control of the Indian defence within the firm of Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar and Mandeep Mor.
The midfield shall be manned by Manpreet alongside Hardik Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh and the skilled Akashdeep Singh.
The forwardline shall be led by Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Shilanand Lakra.
Defending champions India will start their marketing campaign on the opening day in opposition to Korea. The opposite groups within the event are Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan and hosts Bangladesh.
Speaking concerning the composition of the aspect, chief coach Graham Reid mentioned, “Whereas deciding on this group we now will need to have our eyes on the long run. It takes a deep and powerful squad to construct sustained success so gamers must be given alternatives to carry out.”
“We now have picked a group that has mixture of expertise and youthful guys who could have their likelihood to point out what they will do.
“It’s a hectic match schedule and given the COVID state of affairs FIH and AHF have allowed 18 gamers to be chosen every sport out of a higher squad of 20.”
India will play their opening match in opposition to Korea on December 14, adopted by video games in opposition to hosts Bangladesh (December 15), arch-rivals Pakistan (December 17), Malaysia (December 18) and Japan (December 19).
The semifinals are scheduled for December 21 adopted by the title conflict on the subsequent day.
Within the earlier version of the occasion held in Muscat, Oman, India had collectively lifted the title together with Pakistan as the ultimate was referred to as off resulting from incessant rains.
Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera
Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Mandeep Mor
Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Akashdeep Singh, Shamsher Singh
Forwards: Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra

Source link

Leave a Reply